Greeting Cards, Calendar with holidays, quotes and wishes for every occasion -
CalendarAugust5 → Carnival in Antigua and Barbuda

Carnival in Antigua and Barbuda

Carnival in Antigua and Barbuda is held on August 5. This event in the first decade of the month August is annual. Help us Help us 
5 August - Carnival in Antigua and Barbuda
Carnival is celebrated in Antigua as it is on many other Caribbean islands. Antigua celebrated its first carnival in August 1957. However, Antigua's carnival is celebrated on the dates of its emancipation of slavery which occurred at the end of July to early August. It is a ten day celebration filled with colorful costumes, live music and parades. The most important day is that of the j'ouvert (or juvé), in which brass and steel bands perform for much of the island's population.

Similar holidays and events, festivals and interesting facts

Antigua and Barbuda Independence DayAntigua and Barbuda Independence Day on November 1 (celebrates the independence of Antigua and Barbuda from the United Kingdom in 1981);
Boxing day in AustraliaBoxing day in Australia on December 26 (also Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Great Britain, New Zealand, Canada, Kiribati, Nauru, Botswana, Ghana, Jamaica);
Easter MondayEaster Monday on April 1 (Påskedag in Norway);
Labour Day in Antigua and BarbudaLabour Day in Antigua and Barbuda on May 6 (Closed on the first Monday of May);
Mothers DayMothers Day on May 12 (Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bonaire, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Cambodia, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Dem. Rep., Congo, Rep., Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Curaçao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Ecuador, Equatorial Guinea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Gabon, Gambia, Greenland, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guyana, Honduras, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Latvia, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Macau, Malaysia, Malta, Myanmar, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Singapore, Sint Maarten, Slovakia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam, Venezuela, Zambia, Zimbabwe)